Maybe Fedora?

I am really disappointed over the problems I’ve had with the Ubuntu Lucid Lynx 10.04 installation on the main computer. I’ve started to do some research on Fedora 12. (Fedora 13 is due out in about 2 weeks, but I’m not eager to install another brand-new-but-not-ready release.)

Here’s what I’ve been looking at:

  • Software availability: most of the stuff I’m using in Ubuntu seems to also be available in Fedora.
  • Flash: seems like it’s not a problem for Fedora.
  • Java: My work websites require java, and the FOSS versions don’t work. Installation of java is a pain under Fedora.
  • MP3 & other codecs: These appear to be available under RPMFusion (and maybe livna), but I’m not sure what’s offered or how to install. (OTOH, I didn’t know about Medibuntu when I started with Ubuntu. There’s a learning curve to everything.)

I see from running the Live CD that I can probably set up a dual-boot with Fedora and Ubuntu Lucid. Maybe I’ll try that.

3 Responses to “Maybe Fedora?”


  1. 1 Rahul Sundaram May 14, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Actually, what is the final release of Fedora 13 is already available at

    http://alt.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt/stage/13.RC3/

    For getting started with rpmfusion and livna, refer to

    http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-fedora-f12.html

  2. 2 Jim May 15, 2010 at 12:19 am

    Fedora is a great distro but remember it is more cutting edge than most so sometimes things break. F12 is quite stable at the moment though.

    Visit the Fedora forum for any questions. There is a good section on how-tos there as well as links to set-up guides. They will answer your questions on setting up codecs, java and a lot more. See http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-fedora-f12.html for a good guide.

  3. 3 dandare1980 May 20, 2010 at 10:07 am

    I too have just been through the pain of many hours of trying different OS’s because of a recent falling out with Ubuntu.

    Some history……… My Linux journey started with Mandriva before I eventually got the Ubuntu bug and followed it from 7.04 to 9.10.

    10.04 had so much wrong with it on my Dell Latitude C640 laptop that I went on another OS hunt trying pure Debian (squeeze testing version), Mandriva 2010 and finally openSUSE 11.2.

    Primarily I was looking for good hardware support, a clean and fast desktop, easy to obtain multimedia codecs and recent or easy access to up to date software.

    Another consideration was a possible move to the KDE4 desktop. I have been a Gnome fan for some time (mostly familiarity I guess), but my reason for change is that the most recent versions of Gnome have a bug which prevents my CD drive from mounting media and programmes that try to access it just crash.

    This bug has been reported, but has not been fixed in over a year or so. I persevered under 9.10 Karmic by removing the offending package “libbrasero-media0”, but this also removes/breaks other dependencies so means I can’t use Rhythmbox etc.

    My experiences?

    Debian’s Squeeze (testing/Gnome) worked well initially, it was up to date and more customisable than Ubuntu, but I soon had problems with my CD drive (libbrasero-media0) and the auto-mounting of USB memory sticks. Still, it kicks Ubuntu Lucid into touch and I would have stayed there if not for the Gnome CD bug.

    Next was Mandriva 2010, it installed well, everything worked. However, I struggled to get full multimedia support and the latest Java working, plus after some routine up dates, my sound no longer worked. I really hate it when stuff like this happens!

    On to the last…. openSUSE 11.2. I used the KDE Live CD to install my final system after I tried a net install which took ages………and then broke on first boot!

    Well, after I installed the Live CD what can I say?

    KDE4 is really snappy and feels more polished than Gnome (and I was worried KDE4 would be a resource hog!). The Dolphin file browser is great. Firefox is also quite snappy and appears smoother in operation, as does OpenOffice.

    The system detected all hardware spot on and for the first time my LCD was setup with the highest resolution I’ve seen on it yet at 1400 x 1050 (and yes I’ve played with the command line for hours trying to improve on 1024 x 768).

    My CD works! Memory stick works! Ok, time to update things like Firefox (from 3.5 to 3.6), quick look around on google and found a repository which sorted that. Went over to http://opensuse-community.org, they have one-click links which set-up codecs, flash, java etc. and some for the most common repositories. Also installed gecko-mediaplayer plug-in to handle web codec stuff and it played everything I threw at it (apple trailers etc.).

    After not too much time, I’m up to date and back to a working system. I’m actually bowled over by how much better my laptop is running. Certainly the best it’s been since it’s had Linux on it and I’ve tried a few over the years. So shove it Ubuntu.

    openSUSE are releasing 11.3 in July, but like you, I think I will stay where I am now with a working system! Certainly before I try 11.3 or any other distro, I’m going to image my drive so I can restore a working system fast 🙂

    Good luck with your new OS hunt!


Leave a Reply

