Into the Past…

Der Frankencomputer will now dual boot Windows 98 and Puppy Linux. So I now have a box on which I can play Myst, Riven, Grim Fandango, Longest Journey… and my wife says she may run her Palm desktop on it.

(Sheesh, what a pain the dual-boot installation was. The Western Digital 12-gig I had in there had some wonkiness on it, and Windows 98 wouldn’t load, and, because it seemed to be taking a Fat32 partition OK, I didn’t know what the problem was until I put in an old 6-gig Seagate I had hanging around. So that Seagate became the C: drive. I divided the Western Digital into two 6-gig partitions, formatted one to Fat32 and the other to Ext3 using Gparted, and put Puppy Linux on the Ext3 partition. Puppy uses an older version of the Grub boot loader, and it worked fine… until I tripped and yanked out a cord during the installation, and had to reinstall BOTH Windows 98 AND Puppy from scratch. Then the Wet54g Bridge wouldn’t respond to anything… it’s probably dead; I haven’t used it in over a year. It’s OK, because I no longer have the network card drivers, and I can’t figure out what model or make the card is, anyway. So this box is not gonna be web-connected (or networked at all). Well, that’s that; I didn’t want to have to worry about malware protection on it anyway.)

0 Responses to “Into the Past…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

