64-bit

I run Ubuntu on my main desktop (and dual-boot on the netbook, but that’s another story). The processor will run 64-bit, but I’ve shied away, partly because there was a glitch in jpilot (which I no longer use, with the demise of the self-contained Palm device), and partly because there was no 64-bit Flash support.

Well, there’s now a 64-bit alpha for Flash that seems reasonably stable. It comes as a tar.gz, so I’ll have to dust off my “compile from tarball” skills… but that would hardly be a crisis, would it?

I’ve been looking at comparative experience and benchmarks for 32-bit and 64-bit, and I can’t say I’m hugely impressed at the difference. I’ve been thinking about changing to 64-bit when Lucid Lynx is released at the end of April… but, as Fagin sang in Oliver!, I think I’d better think it out again.

0 Responses to “64-bit”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

