How I lost 30 lbs.

I’ve lost 30 lbs. since April of 2009. I did it, of course, with changing my eating habits (“diet” is the wrong word, because it implies a temporary aberration, from which you intend to eventually return to the habits that got the weight on in the first place). But more important than that – before you even look at your eating patterns – if you want to change your weight, I suggest two things:

  1. Set up a pattern of strenuous exercise, five or six days per week; and
  2. Weigh yourself daily, and keep a record of the numbers and the trend.

I got the second idea from John Walker’s The Hacker’s Diet, which is a diet for guys — he includes good, specific suggestions, and is refreshingly free of the frippery and la-la romance I see in most diets geared towards women. He hosts a site where you can track and graph your weight, as well as documents for Microsoft Excel.

But the Excel documents seem to break every time Microsoft comes out with a new edition of Office (I couldn’t get the Office 2003 spreadsheets working on my wife’s Excel 2007), and I’m always afraid that the online tools are going to disappear (especially since Mr. Walker doesn’t appear to make money off the site – like, I don’t see ads on it).

I want to sing the praises of John Thysell’s Hacker’s Diet with OpenOffice.Org. First, of course, OpenOffice.Org is freeware (did I mention I’m a sucker for the free stuff?). Second, through a number of upgrades, both of OpenOffice,Org and of Mr. Thysell’s spreadsheet, I’ve been able to upgrade, pull through the old data, and just have everything work. I just upgraded again because my wife wanted to track her data, and I see the new version both graphs and calculates BMI. You can download the spreadsheet, and run it locally on your own computer.

I’m, like, smitten. Thank you, Mr. Thysell.

1 Response to “How I lost 30 lbs.”


  1. 1 Jon March 17, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    I’m glad you like it. If you have any suggestions for future releases, drop me a line. I’ve been using my own sheet since 2007, so I have an invested interest in improving it on a a regular basis.


Leave a Reply

