It’s alive!

I just did a firmware upgrade on my venerable Linksys WRT54G wireless router (it’s hardware version 1.1, and the webpage shows hardware up to version 8.2, so “venerable” is apparently not misused here). I had backed up everything (including making copies of every page of settings, and planned the upgrade for a time I could be offline for a while if i needed to re-connect (and maybe buy another one if I reduced it to a useless brick).

It couldn’t have gone better. I downloaded the zipfile, extracted, read the “readme”, ran the utility, and bingo! it was back up again. It didn’t even lose any of my settings. And I’ve got a slight, but noticeable, increase in throughput.

Did it from my Linux box, too. Linksys, here’s wishing you continued success.

0 Responses to “It’s alive!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

