OK, so MAYBE an e-reader…

I’ve been re-thinking the e-reader thing, especially in view of the Passing of the Palm (see previous post). And, frankly, I may also be reacting to the fact that I have a bunch of Barnes & Noble giftcards that need burning up. But if I can get an e-reader that will run plain text, .pdf, and epub formats, then I can take some public-domain (or pirated – ahem) books with me – and I think the e-reader might also be a better way of handling periodicals (I MISS my dead-tree version of PC Magazine!).

They’re still too expensive, though. And I still think that in ten years, format changes will make anything on the e-reader unrecoverable.

Leave a Reply

